Territorial Jurisdiction

The Court of Appeals may issue and determine original remedial writs and has general appellate jurisdiction in all cases not within the exclusive jurisdiction of the Missouri Supreme Court.  Cases that are not within the Supreme Court's exclusive jurisdiction may be transferred from the Court of Appeals to the Supreme Court when it is determined that a case involves an important issue that should be decided by the Supreme Court.  The Court's territorial jurisdiction is listed below.

Please note:  Except by different stipulation of the parties, all cases from the counties of Bollinger, Butler, Carter, Crawford, Dent, Dunklin, Iron, Mississippi, New Madrid, Oregon, Pemiscot, Reynolds, Ripley, Scott, Shannon, Stoddard and Wayne are heard at Poplar Bluff.

Barry County
Barton County
Bollinger County
Butler County
Camden County
Carter County
Cedar County
Christian County
Crawford County
Dade County
Dallas County
Dent County
Douglas County
Dunklin County
Greene County
Hickory County
Howell County
Iron County
Jasper County
Laclede County
Lawrence County
Maries County
McDonald County
Mississippi County
New Madrid County
Newton County
Oregon County
Ozark County
Pemiscot County
Phelps County
Polk County
Pulaski County
Reynolds County
Ripley County
Scott County
Shannon County
St. Clair County
Stoddard County
Stone County
Taney County
Texas County
Wayne County
Webster County
Wright County